Random Medical question

Welcome to NZ Beekeepers+
Would you like to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
Ngaruawahia
Experience
Hobbyist
Hi, long time reader but poor contributor, I am an enthusiastic hobbyist, 9 hives, graft my own queens, produce enough honey for my extended family.
my random question, are there any beekeepers that have an ostomy bag? I am heading down that road due to a medical condition and I am concerned how I will cope with the lifting, especially honey boxes.
just wondered if anyone has any experience with this?

yesbut

Staff member
Nelson
Experience
Hobbyist
Have'nt had to deal with a bag (yet touch wood) but have an ongoing hatred of heavy boxes. I went to 3/4 years ago, now I'm trialling 6 frame 3/4. Still make you mutter when they're glued together.

Mid Canterbury
Experience
Semi Commercial
I think in the initial period you will need assistance with lifting; as postop with any major surgery. Do you belong to a local bee club who could help you? You mention family, can they do the lifting while you do the inspections? Will 9 hives now be too much for you and are things set up in your apiary so you can easily work it? I would also suggest if you currently have the energy, that you have a major declutter of any surplus gear and get the storage shed neat and tidy? Surplus stuff can insidiously creep up on you and become quite an overwhelming problem, particularly if you are also dealing with a health condition. But if the gear is stored orderly, it will make it so much easier for you in the initial postop period, when you can tell your helper/s where precisely everything is and that it is in good order.

I do know of both a commercial operation and semi commercial that beekeep with an ostomy.