Can't find carnies😬😂

Welcome to NZ Beekeepers+
Would you like to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
Alexandra
Experience
Hobbyist
Hi from central Otago 👋 I'm trying to get information about Carniolan breeders in the south island either selling queens or nucs if anyone can put me onto someone that would be fantastic 😃

Alexandra
Experience
Hobbyist
I suspect you are correct, pure carnis do not exist any more, best I can tell anyhow.
😬 Yeah, I'm having real trouble finding some. I've contacted a few breeders and they're either not selling mated queens or are selling Italians 😂 it's looking more like I'm going to have to fork out $500 bucks for a five frame mated nuc from brood brothers up far north which I'm not in love with financially because I'm a hobbyist

yesbut

Staff member
Nelson
Experience
Hobbyist
I can tell you from experience those grey bees are fun to look at but it won't be long before you get brassed off with the stroppy things.

• Haha
Reactions: Alastair
Alexandra
Experience
Hobbyist
I can tell you from experience those grey bees are fun to look at but it won't be long before you get brassed off with the stroppy things.
We had black bee's ( British brown/ Italian hybrids) and nothing holds a candle to them when they feel stroppy😂 Africanised bee's are a close second, so Carniolan bees will be a nice change 😃👍😂

maungaturoto
Experience
Commercial
😬 Yeah, I'm having real trouble finding some. I've contacted a few breeders and they're either not selling mated queens or are selling Italians 😂 it's looking more like I'm going to have to fork out $500 bucks for a five frame mated nuc from brood brothers up far north which I'm not in love with financially because I'm a hobbyist
thats a rude price. you can buy whole hives for half that and if your in the right place and time, they are damn near giving them away these days.
carnies are fine to handle. i would have thought SI guys would be into them for the colder areas.