Norway

Welcome to NZ Beekeepers+
Would you like to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
Hawkes Bay
Experience
Commercial
I've just come back from six weeks in Norway which is mainly holiday but I did get to help my son with his hives and also visited a couple of beekeepers and a bee scientist. It's a very short season over there but we averaged 30 kg of wild raspberry and 40 kg of heather honey. I got to play with a radial extractor which is something I've never used before and I have to say I was quite impressed and it even handled the heather after it had been pricked. The bees were carniolan and impossible to upset. I have never seen bees so quiet. Stunning wild flowers everywhere along with the odd moose and a couple of capercaillie . Also did a quick side trip to Yorkshire where we saw the Moors in full flower. Walked in the little way to take a photo of some bees and got attacked when we got within about 30 m.
I have come home to what would have to be one of the wettest Springs in many years and I have to say I'm glad I don't have to go out working and shifting bees any more in this sort of conditions. The few hives I have kept seem to have come through pretty well.

southbee

Gold
Southland
Experience
Commercial
That sounds like a very good crop, I didn't realise that Norway has so much wild raspberry! What do their hives look like over there, do they use Langstroth? Just being nosy, I always wanted to go to Norway, but haven't managed yet!

Hawkes Bay
Experience
Commercial